Ohio, Pa. auctioneers honor peers


COLUMBUS – The Ohio and Pennsylvania auctioneers’ associations recently held their state annual meetings in Columbus and Hershey, Pa., respectively.
Lifetime award. The Ohio group inducted Charles Garth Semple, from Semple and Associates of Williamsburg, and the late James Baer, Rogers, into the state auctioneers’ hall of fame.
James E. Lewis of Chuck’s Auction service, Wyoming, Pa., was enshrined in the Pa. Auctioneers’ Association Hall of Fame.
The halls of fame recognizes individuals who have committed themselves to fostering excellence in the auction industry.
The Pennsylvania auctioneers also selected Sanford L. .Alderfer, Hatfield, Pa., as Pa. Auctioneer of the Year. The award winner was nominated by fellow auctioneers and also selected by his peers.
Charity auction. During the Ohio convention, members raised $3,400 for the Columbus chapter of the Make-A-Wish Foundation, as part of the 35th annual bid calling contest.
Junior division champions were: first place, Kenneth Turchik, Caldwell; second, Curtis Yoder; and third, Alan Haley.
Senior champion was Joseph Mast, Millersburg, followed by Jason Miller of Quaker City in second and Kevin Wendt of Dublin in third.
Pa. contest. B.J. Jennings of York Haven, Pa., won the Pa. auctioneer championship, held during the bid calling contest at the Pennsylvania State Farm Show.
For the first time, the association also named a “rookie” auctioneer champion, J. Philip Grosh, also of York Haven.
A portion of the contest benefit auction went to St. Jude’s Hospital in Memphis, Tenn, as well as the Farm Show Scholarship Fund.
New leaders. Leadership for the Ohio Auctioneers Association for 2005 include: John Muncy, New Lebanon, president; Bart Sheridan, Cedarville, president-elect; Doug Walton, Upper Sandusky, vice president; Ryan Troup, Lancaster,, treasurer.
Board members include: at-large director, Lori Kiko, Canton; southeast, Norman Allen of Minford and Chris Davis, Columbus; northeast, George Kiko, Canton and Nick Verbus, Middleburg Heights; southwest, Maggie Beckmeyer, North Bend, and Jerry Stichter, Troy; northwest, Phil Cole, Findlay, and Bart Westfall, West Unity.
Outgoing president is Dennis Eberhart, Kent.
New officers for the Pa. Auctioneers Association include: Harry H. Bachman of Annville, president; H. Brent Souder of Hatfield, president-elect; Sandra Brittingham, Uniontown, vice president; and Jerry H. Schwenk, Coopersburg, treasurer.
Retiring president is Jay Ziegler of Hummelstown.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!