State honors achievements of longtime farm families


REYNOLDSBURG, Ohio – Ohio Agriculture Director Fred Dailey honored the achievements and tenacity of eight Ohio farm families at a ceremony Aug. 8 at the Ohio State Fair.

The eight families were chosen as honorees for the 2002 Ohio’s Outstanding Century Farm Awards, an annual recognition given to productive farms held in the same family for the past 100 years or more.

The program, now in its tenth year, is a joint project of the Ohio Department of Agriculture, Ohio’s Country Journal, and the Ohio Historical Society.

Honorees. Honorees are chosen for their commitment to preserving their heritage, their contribution to the agriculture community, and their environmental stewardship.

This year’s honorees are:

* Highland County: Robert and Barbara Hottle, Harold Hottle, Laura Lynn Hottle, Hillsboro; Founded by Michael Rizer in 1872.

* Logan County: Jean M. Smith, operated by nephew Robert and Ann Smith, Quincy; founded by Jacob Smith in 1835.

* Harrison County: Eugene Heavilin, Cadiz; founded by James Campbell in 1834.

* Mahoning County: White House Fruit Farm, Inc., David J. Hull, David R. Hull, and Deborah Hull Pifer, Canfield; founded by Henry Baird (Beard) in 1874.

* Scioto County: The Kline Farm, Patty and John Kline Shuster, Lucasville; founded by John Rouse in 1848.

* Henry County: Brent Badenhop, Hamler; founded by Frederick Badenhop in 1872.

* Vinton County: Kruger Family Farm, Mary Downard and Rita Teeters McArthur; founded by John Kruger in 1875.

* Erie County: Joseph and Martha Burnham, Berlin Heights; founded by William Tillinghast in 1815.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!