Trumbull Farm Bureau celebrates year


CORTLAND, Ohio — Two Trumbull County farm families were honored for their conservation efforts when members of the county’s Farm Bureau gathered last week for the annual meeting.

Recipients of the Tom Schwartz Environmentally Friendly Farmer award were David and Becky Lynn and Roland and Sandy Wildman.

The Lynns, of Southington Township, raise dairy beef feeders and crop 80 acres of hay and grain.

The Wildmans, of Gustavus Township, have used manure storage and systematic tiling on their hay, grain and horse farm.

Energy matters

David Pennington, assistant director of agricultural law for the Ohio Farm Bureau, addressed the audience at Garden Brook banquet center about the state’s opportunities in wind energy.

Pennington pointed to a Department of Energy initiative to derive 5 percent of the nation’s energy from wind by 2020, which he described as “aggressive.”

“With the number [of turbines] being built, I think it might be achievable,” he said.

Pennington cited federal statistics that peg wind energy’s potential at 10.7 trillion kilowatt hours per year, which he said is three times the current total consumption nationwide.

Wind energy should be of particular interest to farmers, Pennington said, and pointed out that farmers have a large stake in federal policy since “you have one thing they need — open land to build on.”

Pennington also showed wind maps, which mark patterns of consistent wind energy, and pointed out southern Trumbull County was a good potential location for turbine siting.

Pennington also said he and other state Farm Bureau staff members are available to review potential turbine lease agreements for members.


Six young women were selected to receive $1,000 educational scholarships from the Farm Bureau.

Recipients were Kelsie Crowder of Newton Falls; Jordan Hardval of Fowler; Hannah Miller of Kinsman; Stephanie Schwartz of Johnston; Laura Smallsreed of Braceville; and Mary Jo Spletzer of Newton Falls.


Three county action team leaders were recognized for their programming efforts over the past year. Those leaders are Walter Horodyski, public policy; Mary Smallsreed, communication; and Art Logan, organization.

Horodyski and Logan have also received achievement awards on the state level for their teams’ efforts.

Regional supervisor Danielle Dufour lauded the county for achieving both farmer gain and total gain during the membership drive this year.

State Women’s Trustee Gale Betterly addressed the crowd and shared her thoughts on the future of agriculture in the state and nation.

Attendees also heard a report from Linnie Lausin on behalf of her husband, Charles, a state board member. Charles Lausin was traveling in Vermont with AGGPAC, the state’s agricultural political action committee.

“Make sure to understand what all these politicians stand for. If you don’t know, ask ’em!,” she said.

“The best thing you can do is learn about them and then vote,” she urged the crowd.

Members voted on a handful of code changes regarding membership, board of trustees officers, duties and committees.

Members also approved a number of local, state and national policy resolutions to help guide state policy development.


Members newly elected to sit on the county’s board of trustees for the coming year are Mark Bockelman, Gordon Butler, Barbara Clemson, Walter Horodyski Jr., Richard Houk, Marsha Stanhope, Ken Letcher and Victor Wolfe.

Delegates selected to attend the 2009 Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting are Eric and Tracie Campbell, Horodyski and Mary Smallsreed.

Glenn Smith, who has served as president of the county’s board of trustees, was honored for his efforts over several terms as president and in other offices.

Smith, who did not seek re-election, is succeeded by Paul Wilde.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.