Vilsack names new National Dairy Board appointments


WASHINGTON — U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack appointed 12 members to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board.

All appointees will serve three-year terms beginning immediately.

Newly appointed are: George E. Marsh, Oregon (Region 1); Ray S. Prock, California (Region 2); Arlene J. Vander Eyk, California (Region 2); Brian W. Esplin, Idaho (Region 3); Neil A. Hoff, Texas (Region 4); Paul A. Fritsche, Minnesota (Region 5);

Patricia M. Boettcher, Wisconsin (Region 6); Mark E. Erdman, Illinois (Region 7); Susan D. K. Troyer, Indiana (Region 9); and Ronald R. McCormick, New York (Region 12).

Kennedy reappointed. Reappointed to serve second terms were: Randy G. Roecker, Wisconsin (Region 6); and Rita P. Kennedy, Pennsylvania (Region 11).

The board’s goal is to strengthen the position of dairy in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for dairy and dairy products. The mandatory program is funded at the rate of 15 cents per hundredweight of milk produced in the 48 contiguous States and marketed commercially.

The 36-member board is authorized by the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.


  1. One would have to ask why if Ohio is such a huge agricultural state there is no representative from Ohio on this board?


We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.