Cattlemen’s association celebrates successful year; gives two new awards


DUBLIN, Ohio – Guernsey County cattlemen Wayne Shriver received the first-ever Commercial Producer of the Year award at the 2003 Ohio Cattlemen’s Association annual banquet Jan. 25 in Dublin, Ohio.

The award was sponsored by Farm and Dairy and the association.

A profile of the Shriver farm operation ran in the Jan. 23 issue of Farm and Dairy.

In addition, Earl McKarns of Kensington in Carroll County received the first-ever Seedstock Producer of the Year award.

McKarns’ Shamrock Vale farm, which includes his wife, Nedra, and son, Dan, has implemented intensive grazing with its Angus herd.

“We just try to raise cattle, take care of the environment and make a living for our family.

“But you really don’t need an award for that,” McKarns said.

Other awards went to Tim Sheeley of Highland County, Young Cattleman of the Year; Ohio State University animal scientist Francis Fluharty, industry service award; and Glen Feichtner, Crawford County, beef industry excellence award.

Membership. During the association’s annual meeting, it was reported the association has increased 54 members over last year.

The association has 1,204 members with a 54 percent renewal rate based on one mailing.

“Just because we’re up right now doesn’t mean we’ll plateau. We need more members,” said Anna Henry, director of member services.

As a bonus, membership incentives have been developed with Tractor Supply Company and Merial, according to Scott Rittenhouse, director of field services.

Beef Expo. Henry reported the upcoming 2003 Ohio Beef Expo trade show is full and additional booths have been added to accommodate exhibitors.

The expo runs March 14-16 at the Ohio Expo Center.

The breed show and sales will also be packed, said Rittenhouse, who added he expects the Genetics Pathway section will be full as well.

The pathway features farm bulls and donor females.

In addition, the Ohio Beef Ambassador contest will be held at the expo, March 14 at 10 a.m.

It was also announced that beginning in 2004, expo junior show participants must be an association member.

Membership cost varies, but the base rate is $50 for a family membership. Last year, 579 juniors showed at the expo.

County awards. A county recognition program is designed to recognize county cattlemen’s associations that incorporate new or creative activities to build stronger relationships with the state group, to promote beef, or to emphasize youth and community involvement.

Counties honored on the gold level - having 90 percent membership renewal rate and increasing membership by 10 percent over last year’s total – were Clark, Crawford, Fairfield, Gallia, Jackson, Montgomery, Stark and Williams counties.

Silver awards went to Logan, Ottawa, and the Ohio Valley Cattlemen, made up of producers from Belmont and Monroe counties. Bronze awards went to Auglaize, Hardin and Mercer counties.

The top recruiter in the membership recruitment contest was Jim Campbell of Greene County.

Officers. State officers for 2003 include Campbell, president; Bill Sexten, Fayette County, vice president; and Gene Steiner, Warren County, treasurer.

Fred Vollborn, Gallia County, is executive committee director-at-large and Marwood Hallett, Knox County, was elected as director of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association.

Officers for the CattleWomen’s group are Linde Calhoun, Madison County, president; Linda Harr, Logan County, vice president; Joan Sullinger, Hardin County, secretary; and Dona Tullis, Madison County, treasurer.

Youth awards. Rebecca Gamble of Logan County was crowned Ohio Queen of Beef by retiring 2002 queen Emily Goubeaux of Darke County.

Ohio Cattlemen’s Foundation scholarship recipients include:

Robert Hoffman, Henry County; Andrea Garmyn, Defiance County; and Tricia Pugh, Stark County, Steve Rauch scholarships; and Eric King, Seneca County, and Joseph Koehler, Fairfield County, Pfizer DEED scholarship.

Erin McKinness was recognized as the 2002 Ohio Beef Ambassador.

(You can contact Andrea Myers at 1-800-837-3419, ext. 22, or by e-mail at


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!