A roundup of FFA news for the week of Dec. 4, 2008


WEST SALEM, Ohio — Members of the Northwestern FFA chapter traveled to the two-day Made For Excellence and the Advanced Leadership Development conferences in Columbus.

The conferences were hosted by the Ohio FFA Foundation and led by the National FFA leaders.

The Made For Excellence Conference was created for ninth and tenth graders. Chapter members who attended were Olivia Stover, Matt Dillon, Katryna Ousley, Sarah Flinn, Amber Franks, and Misty Meuer.

The goals of the conference were for students to understand they indeed were made for excellence, to discover their hidden potential, find the best route for success, set goals, use opportunities in the agricultural field and what is to come in the future.

The Advanced Leadership Development Conference was fashioned for 11th and 12th grade students.

Alison McGinnis, Jessica Wellert, Zach Hottel and Tori Campbell attended this conference.

Leadership was the main topic for this meeting. How it influences, the perspectives, the need, the problem solving which goes along with it, the opportunities and benefits of leadership were the themes covered.

* * *

ANDOVER, Ohio — On Nov. 17, the Parliamentary Procedure Team of the Pymatuning Valley FFA chapter placed first at Southeast High School, Portage County.

Members who participated in the competition were: seniors, Brenda Hanson and Allison Lacy; juniors, Natalie Bessman, Bo Shreves and Emilee Tucker; sophomores, Ethan Crawford, Anthony Montello and Kayla Shreves and freshmen, Tyler Gruskeiwicz and Tricia Lautanen.

Other members attending the competition were Dylan Butler, Maxine Semai and Courtney Tye.

The competition is based on points for running of a proper meeting. Pymatuning Valley scored 1,024 on the meeting.

The district competition will be held Dec. 8 at Northwestern Wayne High School.

* * *

INDIANAPOLIS — Former Margaretta FFA adviser Tim Niemeyer was bestowed with his Honorary American Degree at the 81st National FFA convention in Indianapolis Oct. 24.

He was one of five people from Ohio to receive his distinction. This is the highest ranked honorary award given from The National FFA Foundation.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.