A roundup of FFA news for the week of Jan. 20, 2011


HARRISBURG — More than 2,000 Pennsylvania FFA members and guests celebrated their achievements and recognized leaders in agricultural education Jan. 10 at the Pennsylvania FFA Mid-Winter Convention as part of the 2011 Pennsylvania Farm Show in Harrisburg.

Russell C. Redding, Pa. secretary of agriculture, was recognized by the National Association of Agriculture Educators for his advocacy for agricultural education, as was MeeCee Baker of Versant Strategies.

The Keystone degree, the highest honor bestowed upon FFA members at the state level, was awarded to 265 recipients.

Four star members were recognized for their exceptional work in agricultural business, placement, production and agri-science, including Zachary Mueller, of Grassland FFA in Lancaster County; Rhiannon Radacosty, of Derry FFA in Westmoreland County; Kaleb Long from Manor FFA in Lancaster County; and Emily Griswold, from Greenwood FFA in Perry County.

The FFA Alumni Association awarded 191 official FFA jackets to first-year members, bringing the total number of jackets donated to 1,000 since the program’s beginning.

Members also participated in the Stock the Trailer food donation campaign, supported by the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, Pennsylvania FFA Association, Pennsylvania FFA Alumni Association and Shetron Trailer Sales. All donated food will be given to the Central Pennsylvania Food Bank.

The FFA will continue collecting donations as part of the Stock the Trailer campaign throughout the year during upcoming state conferences.

* * *

WEST SALEM, Ohio — Northwestern’s FFA chapter likes to find ways to give back to the community.

A total of twelve members from the chapter picked up cleaned Christmas trees in the local villages Jan. 5. An article had been previously sent out to infrom community members of this project.

The 25th year of the pickup was a success, with 20 trees collected in total. The chapter then donated the trees to the West Salem Beagle Club for use as rabbit habitats.

Participating members were Chirt Thomas, Sara McWilliams, Dave Devore, Ashley Cromer, Tessa Topp, Sabrina Johnson, Damon Johsnon, Taylor Mowrer, Matt Priest, Sarhra Flinn, Zane Dilyard, and Travis Clark. 


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.