A weekly roundup of FFA news for the week of Dec. 22, 2011:


MILLERSBURG, Ohio — On Nov. 18-19 the West Holmes FFA held the annual Greenhand Lock-In in the high school gymnasium.

At this lock-in, members participated in fun and educational evening geared to prepare them for success in their FFA career. The evening started out with icebreakers prepared by the senior and officers with added participation from the state officers in attendance. Marie Arnold and A.J Hildebrandt who are currently serving Ohio FFA as District officers participated in the event.

After the icebreakers, the freshman members broke into groups with the state officers to participate in their workshop entitled “I can.”

Once the workshop ended freshman members enjoyed watching a humorous parliamentary presentation. After the presentation, freshman attended sessions prepared by the seniors and officers. After the short demos the freshman had the opportunity to run for a Greenhand office.

The Greenhand officers are president Bryce Burgett, vice president Elise Neville, secretary Alex Snow, treasurer Maddie Wolfe, reporters Morgan Hackworth, Harlie Spurlock; sentinel Kayla Bird; historian Meghan Dawson; student adviser Shyann Kick.

On Nov. 21, Rob Hovis, former FFA member, state officer, agriculture teacher, and state executive secretary, spoke to the full West Holmes FFA chapter.

He spoke about his experience while in FFA and how it has applied to his life. He also encouraged members to step out of their shells and take advantage of the many experiences the FFA has to offer.

During the meeting, Greenhand Ceremonies were conducted, and parents got to see a slideshow that highlighted the new members.

Greenhands inducted included: Wesley Adams, Monica Airwyke, Kayla Bird, Crystal Blackburn, Bailey Boughman, Rebekah Brannon, Bryce Burgett, Hunter Carpenter, Meghan Dawson, Jace Freewalt, James Friend, Tanner Goines, Nathan Greenough, Gram “Huck” Hay, Dylan Holloway, Morgan Hoxworth, Kristin Hoover, Shyann Kick, Levi Kinstle, Lexi Kinstle, Tye Kirby, Kara Leadbetter, Andrea Lehman;

Quinten Lovell, Shawna McVay, Terry Medley, Wyatt Mellor, Brandon Miller, Brianna Miller, Everhett Myers, Elise Neville, Tristan Ramseyer, Timothy Rogers, Vincent Schlauch, Alexandra Snow, Tori Smith, Christopher Sprang, Amanda Spurlock, Harlie Spurlock, Dakota Stocker, Dustin Stocker, Madalyn Wolfe and Devin Yoder.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.