HARRISBURG, Pa. — Three Lawrence County FFA teams competed at the Pennsylvania State Farm Show in Harrisburg. Twenty-two high school demonstration teams from across Pennsylvania participated in the state competition. Mohawk FFA placed first with its “Smoke ’Em if you got ’Em” demonstration on building a backyard smoker for meats and other food. Team members included: Dylan Clark, Timothy Murtha, Blake Solley, Sammy VanKirk and Alleya Wagner.

A team from Wilmington High School placed sixth with its Project Pallet demonstration on how to build signs, planters, and other things by recycling wood pallets. Team members included: Libby Hart, Dan DeHaven, Andrew Miles and Ricky Telesz. A team from Laurel High School placed eighth with its Growing with Hydroponics demonstrating how to grow food without soil. Team members included: Jake Petronelis, Brandon Peak, Greg Park, Aaron Sniezek and David Morrison.

• • •

SULLIVAN, Ohio — Black River FFA visited St. Patrick’s Manor in Wellington, Dec. 21, to sing Christmas carols and visit with the residents. The chapter provided homemade cookies and left boxes of fruit for the residents. Members that attended were: Sierra Sturgill, Brandon Heath, Lexi Czarny, Morgan Czarny, Hannah Moskel, Callee Aviles, Meghan Gallagher, Joey Rochford, Eric Cordonnier, David Markiewicz, Suzanne Packard, Rachael Holt, Noah Blake, Brenna Walters, Madison Edwards, John Bricker, Allen Slaven, Kelly Wilson and Tony Strojin.

• • •

WEST SALEM, Ohio — The Northwestern FFA Chapter, along with Ohio FFA Officers Alyssa McQuiston and Lesley Shanahan, hosted a leadership night at Northwestern High School, Jan. 11. Nearly 200 FFA members from Triway, Smithville, Norwayne, Buckeye, Hillsdale, Pymatuning Valley, and Northwestern FFA chapters attended and participated in small group activities run by state officers.

Northwestern FFA also participated in a Christmas Tree pick-up in and around the community, Jan. 5. The trees were donated to the West Salem Beagle Club to be recycled and used for wildlife habitats. Members included: Kaci Way, Emily Flinn, Kierstyn Wood, Austen Wood, Philip Eberly and Cody Tegtmeier.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.