Ohio soybean growers salute legislators Brown, Gibbs


WORTHINGTON, Ohio — The Ohio Soybean Association recognized U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown and U.S. Rep. Bob Gibbs as its Legislators of the Year.

The association awards this distinction to a legislator or legislators who have contributed to the success of the Ohio soybean industry.

Brown, a Democrat, and Gibbs, a Republican, both played critical roles in the passage of the farm bill in early 2014 as both men served on their respective chambers’ agriculture committee.

“As agriculture is only 1 percent of the U.S. population, it is more important than ever to cultivate the relationships we have with the legislative leaders who understand farmers’ contribution to U.S. citizens and the economy,” said Jerry Bambauer, OSA president and Auglaize County soybean farmer.

According to the association, Brown and Gibbs have both been accessible to soybean farmers and held multiple conference calls with leaders across the state. They supported expanded funding of the Biobased Marketing Program and the continuation of the Renewable Fuel Standard, which includes a required level of use of biodiesel.

During the farm bill process, Brown also partnered with Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., to push for the Agriculture Risk Coverage program.

OSA farmer leaders presented the award to Brown during a special event April 24 at the farm of Bret Davis, OSA chairman and Delaware County soybean farmer.

Gibbs received his award in March during OSA’s visit to his office on Capitol Hill.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.