Ohio State’s AgriNaturalist wins top honor

2017 AgriNaturalist (Ohio State)
2017 AgriNaturalist (Ohio State)

COLUMBUS — The 2017 AgriNaturalist was named the top magazine produced by students by the National Agricultural Alumni and Development Association at the 2018 national conference.

The AgriNaturalist is an annual magazine produced by students in the agricultural communication major as a capstone project. It is also the longest-running agricultural student publication in the United States, with the 2017 issue being the 123rd edition.

Each spring semester, this magazine is completely produced by students — from advertisement sales, photography, graphic design, writing and editing.

It covers topics in the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership, in the College of Food, Agriculture, and Environmental Sciences, The Ohio State University and the agriculture industry.

The National Agricultural Alumni and Development Association is a professional organization who provides education, support and recognition for professionals and volunteers dedicated to expanding resources for advancing agriculture and related disciplines through land-grant and other colleges of agricultural sciences and partner programs.

As part of their conference each year, the association hosts the annual Publication and Project Competition for member schools to submit print, multimedia, campaign, events and society programming for consideration.

The print media category is evaluated based on concept, writing, design, photos and graphics, print quality and budget.


Students, now Ohio State alumni, who served on the staff of the 2017 AgriNaturalist include:

  • Megan Besancon, editor
  • Mary Siekman, associate editor
  • Miranda Miser, sales manager
  • Elizabeth Overholt, associate sales manager
  • Lauren Corry, design editor
  • Shelby Bradford, associate design editor
  • Emily Henes, design staff
  • Mallorie Wippel, web editor
  • Hope Bondurant, writer
  • Mindi Brookhart, writer
  • Amanda Bush, writer
  • Tyler Crowe, writer
  • James Fairchild, writer
  • Sarah Johnson, writer
  • Chloe Moreland, writer
  • Taylor Pugh, writer
  • Rachel Romonosky, writer
  • Leah Schwinn, writer
  • Jarred Shellhouse, writer
  • Katherine Shoup, writer
  • Seth Zavodny, writer
  • Dr. Emily Buck, advisor
  • Dr. Annie Specht, advisor
  • Desiree Seeloff, graduate advisor

View the 2017 AgriNaturalist online or request a hard copy by emailing acel@osu.edu.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.