Passage of fast tractor legislation lauded by Wayne Co. Farm Bureau


WOOSTER, Ohio – After an eight-year process, legislation permitting fast tractors on area roads was approved by Ohio legislature.
Tractor bill. For his efforts, Jim Carmichael, the author of that legislation, was named the 2007 Friend of Agriculture by the Wayne County Farm Bureau during its annual meeting.
The bill, recently signed into law by Gov. Ted Strickland, will allow the faster tractors on the road with speed identification symbols, indicating the tractor’s maximum speed.
Bob Slicker, who currently represents the county on the Ohio Farm Bureau board of trustees, was named as the recipient of the Outstanding Service Award.
Slicker was recognized for his work to take issues concerning the county and district he represents to the state board and working to achieve a solution.
Policies. During the meeting, members voted on county policies stressing the need to expand efforts to educate the community on animal agriculture; the revitalization of urban neighborhoods; developing and implementing a program for farmers on biosecurity; working with the prosecutor and sheriff’s department to ensure enforcement of trespass laws; and educating the public about the proper use of slow-moving vehicle signs.
Members voted on state policies favoring checkoffs only with a referendum passed by producers; changing Ohio Revised Code with respect to laws governing animal cruelty and livestock; and continuing the support of including woodland in CAUV.
Members also voted on national policies opposing the abolition of horse slaughter in the United States; establishing an effective solution for the collection of sales tax from online purchases; and encouraging American Farm Bureau Federation to establish a legal differentiation between livestock and companion animals as it relates to statutes governing animal cruelty.
Young membership. Retiring President Tim Workinger told the group his term was different than it was during his first term 20 years ago. At that time, the county had to write off 300 members due to the impact from the grain embargo.
He noted he was concerned there weren’t more young farmers involved in Wayne County Farm Bureau, but he also added that many of them have jobs off the farm as well as their farming activities and time is scarce.
Gail Betterly, state women’s trustee, congratulated the county on a successful year, specifically in its efforts in getting the fast tractor legislation passed.
Will Moore, 2007-2008 president, noted that Wayne County Farm Bureau has a lot to be proud of.
“We accomplished a lot under Lloyd Mumaw and Tim Workinger,” he said.
“We still have a lot of challenges but we have a lot of opportunities, as well.”
Star awards. Star awards were presented to: Kurt Steiner, government affairs; Greg Sautter, safety; Susan Mykrantz, information; Nancy Wise and Dawn Schirm, promotion, education and image; Richard Lance, ag. ecology; Tom Machamer, policy development; Matt Slicker, membership; Andy and Jennifer Stands, Nationwide sponsorship.
The county also received special recognition for its membership campaign, achieving both member and farmer gain for a total of 2,656 members and earning another delegate, for a total of eight delegates representing the county at the state annual meeting.
Elections. Elected to the board of trustees were: Mike Haley, Jerrod Lance, Matt Stoll, Tom Van Nostra, Nevin Horst, Susan Mykrantz, Jane Alexander and Bryan Gortner.
Delegates to the 2008 Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting will be: Roger Baker, Bryan Gortner, Brian Gwin, Mike Haley, Pam Haley, Lloyd Mumaw, Matt Stoll and Tim Workinger.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!