Roundup of FFA news for March 30, 2017

FFA logo

ASHLAND, Ohio — Ohio FFA Vice President At-Large Ryan Matthews visited the Crestview FFA chapter March 17.

Matthews conducted leadership and team building activities with each class and he spoke with chapter officers about pursuing state officer positions.

• • •

OBERLIN, Ohio — Lorain County JVS Supervisor Jason Kaczay will receive the Honorary State FFA Degree at the Ohio FFA State Convention in May.

He was nominated by Maggie Lieb, a landscape and greenhouse management senior and FFA member from Avon, for his willingness to help FFA members in the classroom and during chapter activities.

• • •

JEROMESVILLE, Ohio — The Hillsdale FFA chapter held its 54th annual banquet March 18 to recognize outstanding FFA members and community members who supported the chapter.

Star Greenhand degrees went to: Clay Schoen and Shawna Barr. Star Chapter Degree: Sean Fitzsimmons and Blayne Bartter.

Outstanding members in agriculture, food and natural resources: Brock Hoverstock and Hattie Stamen. Outstanding members: Braxton Slagle, sophomore; Libby Hohler, junior; and Adrianne McPhillips, senior.

Star Ag Business award: Madison Heller; and outstanding member, Maryellen Bliss.

Top three fruit sellers: Sydney Long sold $2,216.50; Taylor Rebman sold $1,132.50; and Garrett Crites sold $1,067

Honorary Degrees: Michele Lahmers and Kitty Runkle

Scholarship awards: Blayne Bartter, Robert Merchant, Shawna Barr, Madison Heller, Taylor Rebman and Rebecca Efaw.

Outstanding record books: Drew Adams, Madison Eaton, Libby Hohler and Cheyanne Adams. Outstanding notebooks: Brock Hoverstock, Payton Fickes, Hannah Way, Taylor Rebman and Adrianna Rogers.

The novice parliamentary procedure team placed second at state; the agronomy team placed fourth at state; the dairy food team recieved a gold rating at the World Dairy Expo; and the food science team placed first at state.

2017-2018 chapter officers: president, Will Yeater; vice president, Libby Hohler; secretary, Alex Becker; treasurer, Josh Davis; reporter, Hannah Way; sentinel, Blayne Bartter; student advisor, Maryellen Bliss; historian, Alyssa Crytzer; parliamentarian, Braxton Slagle; chaplain, Clay Schoen, and student ambassador Molly Moffett. Sean Fitzsimmons received the retiring president plaque.

• • •

WEST SALEM, Ohio — The Northwestern FFA chapter handed out 50 degrees to first- and second-year FFA members Feb. 22.

Ohio FFA State Vice President at large Trisha Seckel was the speaker.

The Greenhand Degree was presented to 33 qualified first-year members.

Jim Borton spoke to members about “life happening” in the midst of making future plans.

Next, the chapter degrees were awarded. Members who received the chapter degree were: David Agnes, Maria Chellis, Lindsay Ciolek, Emily Cromer, Skylar Dawson, Brianna Faltisco, Jacey Fulton, Tate Hixon, Beth Kanzeg, David Leiter, McKayla Linscott, Cole Marley, Carter Melicant, Cody Morrow, Beth Schaefer, Joey Shaw and Lexis Switzer.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.