Similar to Judith Sutherland

All Categories

  • Fire takes terrible toll on beloved barn

  • It’s clear the farm bill needs overhaul

  • To love and to cherish, even in manure

Judith Sutherland Results

Asking life’s questions: What now?

Thursday, March 11, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland doesn’t think any of us can comprehend what American soldiers are faced with each day.

Animals in heaven, too? Hopefully

Thursday, March 4, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland knows there is a place in heaven for ‘nonhuman’ family members.

The days go by: Children’s teen-age birthdays hit mom like ton of bricks

Thursday, February 26, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland faces the reality that her children, Cort and Caroline, are growing up.

Despite pain, life goes on and so do we

Thursday, February 19, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland discusses how to cope with life’s ups and downs and tragedies, too.

Making sense of a changing world

Thursday, February 12, 2004

Columnist Judie Sutherland scratches her head at the changes she’s seen in her lifetime, and not all of them for the better.

Patience is a missing commodity

Thursday, February 5, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland says patience and family farms go hand in hand.

Farmers need a cut of the dough, too

Thursday, January 29, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland wonders what life might be like if farmers negotiated union contracts for their fair share of the pie.

Grandpa Charlie was the greatest

Thursday, January 22, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares an early memory, and lesson, that continues to inspire.

Strength, quick thinking averts more tragedy after school bus accident

Thursday, January 15, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares the gripping horror and exceptional strength shown by one school bus driver when she saved a busload of students from harm.

Country cures: Concocted and kept

Thursday, January 8, 2004

Columnist Judith Sutherland writes about the whisky, the salve and the good old days of medicine.

It’s a time for blessing readers, too

Wednesday, December 31, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland has relied on Farm and Dairy readers to help her and her family survive the writing of each week’s column for 15 years.

A life of living and giving

Wednesday, December 24, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland pays tribute to a family friend who’s probably now playing Santa in heaven.

Hay mow produced its own crop

Thursday, December 18, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reminisces about Dr. Watson, the undercover cat.

Avoiding the hay mow powwow

Thursday, December 11, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland confesses having a panic attack on the way to the hay mow.

Hoping to be the glorious TV sitter

Thursday, December 4, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reflects on her childhood home, complete with envious siblings, dirty dishes and a television on its last leg.

True grit survives 81 years of ranching

Wednesday, November 26, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland says real survival is ranching in a wildfire canyon.

Land of the free, and home of the brave takes on new meaning

Thursday, November 20, 2003

Who’s brave enought to tough it out? Columnist Judither Sutherland shares a review of the book, Braving Home.

Learning about farming from a pro

Thursday, November 13, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland is set straight by a 2-year-old farmer.

Learning to love the journey

Thursday, November 6, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reflects on life’s journeys, major bumps in the road, and going on.

Contemplating a harvest at sea

Thursday, October 30, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares tidbits from a good read, and a good soul-searching.

eNewsletter

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox