Ashland FFA’ers honored for work


ASHLAND, Ohio – Ashland FFA’ers Jessica Kirkpatrick and Kristy Lahmers were honored at the chapter’s annual FFA recognition banquet held at Ashland High School.

The pair are applicants to receive the American FFA Degree, the highest award presented within the FFA system.

Kirkpatrick was also a finalist in the state proficiency contest for her work in sheep production.

Chapter awards. Christian received the chapter’s 2004 DeKalb Award. The son of Kathy and William Christian, he has served as the chapter’s president, was on the poultry team and is a State FFA Degree recipient.

Star Chapter awards were presented during the evening. Samantha Hinkle received the Star Greenhand Award. The Star Sophomore was Stephanie Litten; Star Junior, Katy Miller; and Star Senior, Josh Hiller.

Kathy and William Christian and Robert Lake were installed as this year’s Honorary Chapter Members for their support of the chapter.

Active alumni. Dan Stone of the Ashland FFA Alumni presented lifetime memberships to Billy Christian and Josh Hiller. The alumni rank as one of the top 10 associations in the state. They have more than 65 members and contribute to chapter activities and the scholarship program, including participation at the Washington Leadership.

State contests. The National Dairy Foods 2003 team of Anthony Callihan, Meghan Martin, Holice Harper and Kristen Conner was recognized for placing third in the nation.

The state contest teams finishing in the top five earned a banner. The dairy foods team of Misty Bahntage, Jacob Brown, Lisa Bantz, Amanda Martin and Karri Shireman placed second; cooperative education team of Stephanie Aten, Brandi Bennet, Tim Pryor, Mitch Dever, and Katy Miller placed third; the farm business team of Jessica Kirkpatrick, Josh Hiller, Stephanie Litten and Brennen Kyser placed fourth; the general livestock team of Stephanie Litten, Josh Hiller, Melissa Boyer, Kyle Stout and Brennen Kyser placed fourth; and the poultry team of Meghan Martin, Billy Christian, Anthony Callahan, David Pearson, Mitch Dever and Kelli Adler placed fourth.

The chapter’s top fruit sales awards were presented to Ryan Mitchell and Stephanie Litten who tied with each selling 62 items.

New leaders. The new 2004-2005 officer team installed included Katy Miller, president; Meghan Martin, vice president; Melissa Boyer, secretary; Kelli Adler, treasurer; Stephanie Litten, reporter; Brennen Kyser, sentinel; and Kyle Stout as student adviser.

Dave Snyder serves as the chapter adviser.

A slide show of the chapter in review concluded the evening program.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!