Ayrshire Breeders’ Association honors members at convention


COLUMBUS — The Ayrshire Breeders’ Association had a successful convention hosted by the Iowa Ayrshire Breeders’ Association in Dubuque, Iowa.

President David Koss presided over the annual meeting June 19 with an enthusiastic group of Ayrshire members in attendance. Signs of growth were given in the annual report presented to the membership.

Registration totals increased from 2007 to 2008, as well the actual lactation average for cows on test.

The high individual production awards were presented to the Duncan family of Warsaw, Ohio, for their cow Palmyra R. Christie-ET who completed 6-01 305D 52,280M 5.5 percent 2895F 3.3 percent 1728P.

Charles Sayles of Perry, Mich., owns the living lifetime production leader Hawksfield Bronara who has living lifetime totals to date of 272,716M 4.3 percent 11,658F 3.3 percent 9,063P.


Reports were given by the president, executive secretary and committee chairs. Highlights included:

– A joint classification project with the South Africa Ayrshire Society is under way with the first cows to be scored in South Africa in July.

– A part-time field representative position will be advertised.

– An endowment fund is being started to assist with research and special projects for the advancement of the breed.

– Updated PTI and CPI formulas will be introduced in the future.

– The Web site will continue to be a priority, with the new features to be added.

– The association will work hard to identify herds needing assistance with registering and catch-up work.

Election results

Election results for officers and directors were announced. Lynn Lee of Smyrna, Tenn., was elected to serve as president for the next two years; Steve McDonald of Princeton, Ill., was elected to a two-year term for vice president; Scott Haynes of Tully, N.Y., was elected to a three-year term as director-at-large; Doug Evans of Georgetown, N.Y., was re-elected to serve a three-year term as Region 1 Director; Bruce Nelson of Tony, Wis., was elected to a three-year term as Region 2 Director and Bruce Kempkes of Walton, Neb., was re-elected for a three-year term as Region 3 Director.

Master Breeder Award

The association presented its annual Master Breeder Award to Stanley Covey of Rose, Okla., June 18.

Covey has developed one of the most influential herds in the Ayrshire breed during the past 50 years.

Covey has served two different terms on the board of directors, as well as serving on several committees for the Ayrshire Breeders’ Association. He has also served on numerous local board of directors.

Distinguished service

The association presented its annual Distinguished Service Award to Gerald Koss June 18.

Koss has owned registered Ayrshire cattle for more than 50 years and has served the breed and dairy industry as leader and promoter.

Koss became a member of the Iowa Ayrshire Breeders’ Association shortly after his first purchase, and in 1959 became a member of the national Ayrshire Breeders’ Association.

He has given many young people the opportunity to become involved in the Ayrshire breed by showing his cattle as 4-H projects. In addition, he taught them how to feed and care for cattle, as well as the importance of excellent genetics.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.