Dairy 4-H’ers show in Holmes Co.


MILLERSBURG, Ohio – Judge Lee Kohler of Baltimore, Ohio, commended 4-H club dairy members for their entries in the Holmes County Junior Fair Dairy Show.
A Holstein aged cow, shown by Lindsey Crider, was chosen senior champion and grand champion Holstein and supreme all-breeds dairy grand champion. Spring-walk Farm, presented the award in memory of the late Floyd Wachtel, a long-time Holmes County Guernsey breeder.
Last year, Crider also had the senior and grand champion Guernsey and supreme all-breeds dairy grand champion.
A 2-year-old Holstein cow owned by Renee Hershberger was chosen reserve senior champion and reserve grand champion Holstein.
Brown Swiss. Hershberger also won the title of junior champion Brown Swiss and supreme all-breeds junior champion.
Kristy Pringle earned the senior and grand champion Brown Swiss award with her aged cow.
Katie Clipp won the reserve senior champion and reserve grand champion Brown Swiss awards.
A senior calf owned by Brant Duncan was chosen reserve junior champion Brown Swiss.
Guernsey, Jersey. Tyler Kiner’s aged Guernsey cow was named senior and grand champion. Morgan Kiner won the title of reserve grand champion Guernsey.
Joanna Hochstetler captured the title of senior champion and grand champion Jersey. Derek Reusser won the reserve senior champion and reserve grand champion Jersey award with his dry cow entry.
Junior champions. Judge Kohler noted that he was impressed with the number of excellent choices he had for the junior champion competition. He chose Shelby Kessinger’s entry to receive the junior champion Holstein award.
Brock Macaulay received reserve the junior champion Holstein award with his intermediate heifer calf.
Guernsey junior champion awards went to Tyler Kiner and Katelyn Hershberger.
Kiner’s senior yearling heifer was named junior champion Guernsey, while Hershberger’s intermediate heifer calf was named reserve junior champion.
Britney Kandel won the junior champion Jersey award with her first-place junior heifer calf.
Sarah Miller received the reserve junior champion Jersey award.
Showmanship. The dairy showmanship contest was held prior to the project judging. The winners were:
Senior division: 1. Kristy Pringle, 2. Katie Clipp, 3. Ryan Yoder; intermediate division: 1. Morgan McDowell, 2. Tyler Kiner, 3. Renee Hershberger; beginner division: 1. Brock Macaulay.
Supreme honors went to Kristy Pringle, first; Renee Hershberger, second; and Katelyn Hershberger, third.
In old-timers showmanship, Charlotte Baird took first and Kevin Spring had second.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!