A roundup of FFA news for the week of Dec. 9, 2010


BELOIT, Ohio — The West Branch FFA chapter held its meeting Dec. 1. Fruit orders for the annual fruit sale were turned in. The chapter discussed holding a chapter T-shirt contest. The student body would come up with a T-shirt design. The winner will have their shirt made.

A dodgeball tournament was also discussed. Record books were mentioned and the importance of keeping records clear and orderly. The chapter discussed upcoming dates for general livestock and dairy judging contests.

Freshman Levi Plocher is going to the Creed speaking competition. Also, the chapter is donating fruit to the Share a Christmas program at the high school.

* * *

WEST SALEM, Ohio — As the winter Career Development Events set in, the Northwestern FFA Chapter is preparing its Varsity Parliamentary Procedure team for the district competition.

At the county competition Nov. 23, the chapter had three Ag Science 1 classes, one Junior Varsity and one Varsity team competing. This Career Development Event is designed to teach students the most proper and efficient way to run a business meeting.

Each team is given six tasks to complete while also discussing topics within a 15 minute time period. Prior to presenting, each member took a written test that tested their knowledge of Robert’s Rules of Order.

AgSience 1, period 8 placed sixth and consisted of Cody Smith, Vice President; Mason Stover, President; and Chelsea Cannon, Jacqulyn Dempsey, Eric Kurtz, Greg Mack, Vincent Morris, Chloe Raff and Ryan Zavesky.

The following students were on the fourth period AgScience 1 team: Derek Bowman, Vice President; Chase Thut, President; and Brandon Basinger, Destiney Boreman, Cody Corbett, Michael Crebs, Wyatt Harper, Josh Hottel, Matt Hunter, Cody Kline, Katrina Lemon, Alex Smith, Courtney Smith, Catheryne Tope, Alex Walton, Zach Watkins, Joe Workman and Jesse Young. The team placed fifth overall.

The 7th period class placed fourth, winning a pizza party for placing the best of the chapter’s competing freshmen classes. Members on this team were Tara Benton, President; Damon Johnson, Vice President; and Walker Claus, Blake Coffman, Deven George, Becca Harbaugh, Abbie Hohider, Kaleb Kliner, Ben Ladrach, Kara Marley, Anya Martynova, John Moser, Cassie Shenberger, Tanner Topp, Josh Trammel, Jorden Vants and Scott Young.

The junior varsity team beat out Triway to bring home a first place in the junior varsity division. Members on this team were President Chase Thut, Vice President Tara Benton, Kandis Starkey, Taylor Mowrer, Tessa Hershey, Hannah Hules, John Eberly and Becca Harbaugh.

The varsity team of Chris Thomas, president; Sabrina Johnson, vice president; and Ashley Cromer, Sarhra Flinn, Travis Cark, Katryna Ousley, Zane Dilyard and Sara McWilliams fell short of first place to Norwayne.

* * *

OBERLIN, Ohio — This year the Firelands FFA chapter was involved in the second annual Harvest for America food drive. The chapter teamed up with the local Tractor Supply Company to collect non-perishable food for the less fortunate for the holiday season.

Students and community members donated 1522 pounds of food, which will help 77 families in the Firelands district.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.