Firelands FFA chapter honors members at parent-member banquet


OBERLIN, Ohio — The Firelands FFA chapter held its annual banquet March 31 with 310 people in attendance.

There were many awards and degrees given out. One of the most prestigious awards given were the Star Awards, which are given to a single person in the freshman, sophomore and junior class.

The 2009 winners were: Greenhand, Cody Doud; Chapter, Shelby Balint and Junior, Sami Grills.

The 110 percent award was presented to senior Meaghan Bari.

Senior Amy Sayler was awarded the DEKALB Award.

Honorary chapter memberships are given to people and businesses that help the FFA in its endeavors and this year three memberships were awarded.

Recipients were Brad and Jackie Butler, Matthew Finnegan and Zukowski Farm.

State Degree

State Degree winners were: Tom Krumwiede, Sam Grills, Milo McAvoy, Andy Butler and Meaghan Bari.

American Degree winners were also recognized. Those honored included Jodie Crawford, John Grills and Kyle Zukowski.

Proficiency Award winners were: market beef, Corey Baumann; market hogs, Jessica Arndt; meat chickens, Rachel Krumwiede; market lambs, Shelby Balint; turkey, Lindsey Hand; wheat, Jimmy Hozalski; corn and soybeans, Sam Grills; garden, Michelle McLoda; job placement, Andy Butler and home improvement, Milo McAvoy.

The Supreme FFA exhibitor Award goes out to exhibitors at the Lorain County Fair who showed an animal, a still project and crop projects.

The supreme exhibitor was Sam Grills with runner-up Shelby Balint, followed by Sarah Adkins, Lindsey Hand, Robert Groot and Ashlynn Yost.

Scholarship awards

Scholarship awards are given to the students who earned all A’s in agricultural science classes this year.

This award was presented to: Sarah Adkins, Jake Allomong, Jess Arndt, Meaghan Bari, Mary Balduff, Cory Bauman, Andy Butler, Sam Grills, Lindsey Hand, Delaine Horwedel, Jeremy Leonard, Milo McAvoy, Michelle McLoda, Meagan Morris, Andrew Northeim, Ryan Pettry, Tyler Ruth, Amy Sayler, Emily Scoggins, Brooke Stanic, Shelby Balint, Jake Butchko, Jimmy Hozalski, Garrett Kelling, Rachel Krumwiede, Mike Larson, Charlie Miller, Ashlynn Yost, Cody Doud, Alex Halbert, Erica Hanko, Josh Hanna, Carl Larson, Sara Laughlin, Jake Myers, Jasmine Osborne and Kaylynn Parker.

Greenhand Degrees were given to 38 freshmen this year and 27 Chapter Degrees were handed out.

Many awards were also given out for various Career Development Events.

New officers

The banquet meeting was closed by the new 2009-2010 officers, which include Sam Grills, president; Lindsey Hand, vice president; Jake Butchko, secretary, Andy Butler, treasurer; Ashlynn Yost, reporter; Carl Larson, sentinel; Rachel Krumwiede, student adviser; Shelby Balint, parliamentarian; Charlie Miller, assistant secretary; Andy Carrico, assistant treasurer and assistant reporter, Joel Miller.


Norman Hanko, a sales professional with Pioneer Hi-Bred, has made a $500 donation to the Firelands Local School District.

Hanko was awarded the contribution money as a result of his Pioneer sales agency’s successful customer-focused activities throughout the year.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.