Grubbs receive Distinguished Service award at Farm Bureau annual meeting


COLUMBIANA, Ohio — John B. “Jack” and Donna Grubbs of Leetonia Road in Leetonia, were awarded the Distinguished Service Award by the Columbiana County Farm Bureau Federation during its annual meeting recently.

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor bestowed by the organization. It is awarded each year at the annual meeting.


Grubbs Brothers, a partnership comprised of Jack and Charles E. “Chuck” Grubbs, began in 1947. The partnership’s roots came from the knowledge they developed from hauling lime for their father who passed away in early 1945.

In 1949, they purchased a farm at 4785 Leetonia Road, Leetonia, where their business is currently located, and continued to haul lime. About 1960, an opportunity arose to distribute fertilizer from their neighbor, Harry Whitacre. Whitacre had been hauling fertilizer to area farmers for W. R. Grace company. He decided to retire and offered the Grubbs’ the business.

Their fertilizer business started to grow, and in 1964, they started spraying liquid nitrogen on crops. The gradually added herbicides and pesticides to their product line. Throughout diverse economic times, they were able to build a loyal customer base. They gradually purchased equipment that would provide different and new facets to the business enabling it to grow into what it is today — Grubbs Bros. Inc.

Jack is married to the former Donna Welker who worked with him in the family business. They have four children, John E., Jim, Charles T. and Kimberly.

Grubbs Bros. Inc. is currently operated by Jack and Donna’s four children as well as Chuck and Phyllis’s daughter, Barb. Chuck and Phyllis also have two other daughters, Sandy and Karen.


A committee of the three previous DSA winners makes the selection each year. The award is given to a bona fide farmer who has made an outstanding contribution to the local community and the industry of agriculture. Fred Hippely, chairman of the committee, presented the award.

In other business during the meeting Rhonda Farmer and Kenneth Robb were named new members of the board of trustees. Farmer represents District I, which includes Butler, Salem, Perry and Knox Townships. Robb represents District III, which is Fairfield, Middleton, Elkrun and Unity Townships.

Re-elected as board members were Philip Greenisen, District I; Brad Strong and Gloria Mathews, District II; Joyce Bailey, District III; and David Chronister and Zeb Locklear, District IV.

Members heard a report from Ohio Farm Bureau Board of Trustees member Pam Haley; from Nancy Milliken, county auditor; and Sean Logan, Director of the Ohio Department of Natural Resources.

Dale Arnold of the Ohio Farm Bureau gave information to the members on oil and gas leasing. Policy resolutions were approved. The resolutions are items the board will act on for the coming year.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



Receive emails as this discussion progresses.