Indian Valley honors FFA members


GNADENHUTTEN, Ohio – The 119 members of Indian Valley High School FFA Chapter celebrated their achievements at the annual banquet May 14 at the school.

Kaitlyn Stiles, daughter of David and Jeanne Stiles of New Philadelphia, Ohio, received the Star Greenhand award.

Erin Bardall, daughter of Mark and Sandy Bardall of Freeport, received the Star Chapter Farmer award. Her supervised agriculture experience was working on the San-Mar Dairy Farms for the past year.

Laken Stocker, daughter of Rich and Kay Stocker of Port Washington, received the Star Agribusiness award. Her supervised agriculture experience includes a herd of Boer goats and placement at Tony’s 76 and Baker’s IGA at Newcomerstown.

Degrees. Nathan Bloom, son of Harold and Cheryl Bloom of New Philadelphia, was recognized as the recipient of the State FFA Degree.

Will Myer, son of Bill and Kathy Myer of Deersville, was recognized for receiving the American FFA Degree. A 2002 graduate, he is currently serving with the armed forces in Iraq.

Proficiency. Proficiency awards were presented to Jessie Rager, daughter of Marcus and Barbara Rager of New Philadelphia; Brystal Slator, daughter of Tom and Rachelle Slator of New Philadelphia; Erin Bardall; and Stocker.

The Don Williams Memorial award presented to Stocker. It is for the individual who completed the most hours of community service work done by the chapter. The award is based on the number of activity points earned, one point for every hour of service. She earned 40.5 points on community service.

In addition, Stocker received the Harold Schreiner Memorial award for leadership. It is given to the student who earns the most activity points overall. She was involved in numerous contests, convention, FFA camp and chapter activities, earning a total of 180 points over the past year.

Leaders. The chapter also recognized its top 10 leaders with a leadership pin, as follows: Stocker, Brystal Slator, Erin Bardall, Alycia Dunlap, Lori Eichel, Kaitlyn Stiles, Dan Gray, Shawn Simmerman, Joey Corpman, and Tiffany Nichols.

Blue and Gold award recipient, Shasta Rorrer, a senior at Indian Valley, received this honor for taking the initiative to assist with FFA and classroom activities.

Brystal Slator was recognized as the outstanding parliamentary procedure member.

Officers. Newly elected officers for 2004-2005 are Brystal Slator, president; Erin Bardall, vice president; Alycia Dunlap, secretary; Jessie Rager, treasurer; Chris Shalosky, reporter; Dan Gray, sentinel; Kaitlyn Stiles, student advisor; Christa Hershberger, chapter development chairman; Brandi Smith, community development chairman; and Tiffany Nichols, student development chairman.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!