Northwest PA honors ag educators


CONNEAUT LAKE, Pa. — The 2009 Pennsylvania Association of Agricultural Educators Conference was held July 13-16 at the Conneaut Lake Park Hotel in northwestern Pennsylvania. About 120 agricultural educators and advisers attended the conference, which included workshops, local industry tours, and recreational activities.

The awards banquet, held July 15, recognized outstanding educators for their years of service and their activities over the past year.

Award recipients included:

* Lifetime Achievement Award: Guy W. Naugle Jr.

* Retirees: Roger H. Reichenbach, Thomas G. Lane and Merril L. Brofee

* Outstanding Young Members: Gregory R. Erb

* Outstanding Ag Ed Teacher: Gretchen A. Dingman

* Outstanding Middle/Secondary School Ag Ed Program: Big Spring High School, represented by SaraBeth C. Wanbaugh and Sherisa Nailer

* Outstanding Postsecondary/Adult Ag Ed Program: Harrisburg Area Community College, represented by Allen M. Wenger

* Teacher Mentor: Krista L. Pontius

* “Teachers Turn the Key:” Cristen L. Black

* Ideas Unlimited, National Association of Agricultural Educators Region VI Winner: Debra A. Seibert

* Outstanding Service Citation, National Association of Agricultural Educators Region VI Winner: Clifford J. Day Jr.

* Outstanding Cooperation Award, National Association of Agricultural Educators Region VI Winner: Pennsylvania Farm Bureau and Administrative Secretary Louis R. Sallie

* Teacher of Teachers: Clifford W. Wallace and J. Clair Witwer

* 30 Minute Club: Douglas G. Brown, Paul L. Heasley, Glenn L. Spangler, Karlee A. Farone and Curtis A. Turner

The following teachers were recognized for attaining milestone years of service: Doyle E. Paul, 45 years; Ronald L. Frederick, 40 years; Glenn L. Spangler and Samuel E. Heyler, 35 years; Douglas G. Gayman, 30 years; Kerry H. Richards, Carole J. Fay, Scott Howell and Nicholas R. Stollar, 25 years; Roy S. Campbell, 20 years; and Thomas A. Hojnowski, 15 years.

Those receiving recognition for 10 years of service were: John C. Ewing, Daniel M. Overdorff, Thaddeus L. White and Tabitha L. Meredith

Those receiving recognition for five years of service were: Jesse D. Brant, Jacqualine M. Carr, Valerie I. Fry, John W. Hines, Herbert H. Hoffeditz, Tracy J. Marchini, Nicole A. Marinos, SaraBeth C. Wanbaugh and Allen M. Wenger.

The association also has two programs to aid student teachers and help develop young adults into professional educators.

Student teachers included Lori A. Clayton, Richard D. Jones, Alexandra J. Lauffer, Mark A. Lowery, Myken D. Poorman, Lauren K. Seiler, John W. Siefert, Bradley Truax, Tiara D. Walburn and Michael K. Woods.

Their cooperating teachers were Ellen M. Aurand, Michelle Miller, Benjamin R. Mordan and William C. Tindall Jr.

The association also has a Mentor- Protege program.

Mentors included: Ellen M. Aurand, Harold R. Berkheiser, Ronald L. Frederick, Joseph C. Goodge, Paul L. Heasley, Martin C. Heyler, Nicholas P. Isenberg, Nicole A. Marinos, Douglas A. McCracken, Doyle E. Paul, Thomas N. Ritchey, Debra A. Seibert, William C. Tindall and J. Clair Witwer.

Proteges were: Karlee A. Farone, Jessica L. Harpster, Robert Harrold, Deborah Kammerer, Bryan Lehocky, Ashley M. Marcantino, Jennifer A. Maulfair, John P. May, Heidi Militana, Sarah J. Quigg, Melanie A. Sanborn, Michael T. Schultz, Lori Schuttert, Adam J. Serfass, Kathleen Smith, Atchley O. Stackhouse, Amanda J. Stoltzfus, Bradley Truax and Stanley Yankosky.

The staff at Conneaut Lake Park Hotel, which included Steve and Joyce Popovich and Greg and Tracy Sutterlin, were honored for their contribution to the event.

Members of the conference committee were also recognized. They included: Ellen M. Aurand, Clifford W. Wallace, Joanna M. McKelvey, Frank Bizjak, Anthony D. Honeycutt Jr., Michael K. Woods, Karlee A. Farone, Cristen L. Black and Joseph C. Goodge.

Past officers of the association were also recognized. Outgoing vice presidents were Gregory R. Erb and John W. Wardle. Past president Gretchen Dingham was recognized for her leadership in 2008, while Joseph C. Goodge, received a plaque for his dedication this year.

President-elect is John Wardle of Bermudian Springs High School in York Springs, Pa.

The 2009 National Association of Agricultural Educators Conference, which will recognize the Region VI winners listed above, will be held in Nashville, Tenn., Nov. 17-21.

The 2010 Pennsylvania Association of Agricultural Educators Conference will be held next summer at Raystown Lake in Huntingdon County, Pa.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.


  1. I want to thank the 2009 PAAE Conference Planning Committee for an excellent conference in Northwest PA. The tours and workshops wre excellent. I did notice that the conference news article did not include my 45 years of service to PAAE. I hope all of you have a few weeks to relax before the start of the 2009-2010 school year.


We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.