Ohio State names new rural-urban chair holder


COLUMBUS – Mark D. Partridge has been named professor and holder of The C. William Swank Chair in Rural and Urban Policy in Ohio State’s College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
The post is effective Oct. 1, 2006, through Sept. 30, 2011.
He follows Lawrence W. Libby, who has been appointed interim director of the John Glenn School of Public Affairs, effective July 1 through Dec. 31, 2006.
Partridge currently holds the Canada Research Chair in the New Rural Economy and is professor in the Department of Agricultural Economics at the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada.
Prior to joining the University of Saskatchewan in 2004, he was a professor of economics at St. Cloud State University. He received his doctorate in economics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
The chair was named in honor of Bill Swank, retired executive vice president of the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, known for his leadership in addressing both rural and urban issues in the state.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!

Previous articleAn awakening of life and books
Next articleOrganic goodness