Smithville FFA celebrates growth


SMITHVILLE, Ohio – The Smithville FFA chapter celebrated a year of growth and success during their annual member recognition banquet.

This year, the chapter was recognized by the state association for achieving a growth in membership of 71 percent.

The chapter was honored during the recent State FFA Convention as being the No. 1 chapter in the state for growth in membership.

Eric Mack was also recognized for receiving his state FFA degree during the annual convention.

Recipients. Justin Carr was named as the chapter’s Star Greenhand. Carr is a member of the officer team, and participated in numerous chapter activities and skills contests, placing third in the district ag production interview contest.

Steven Pepperd was named as the recipient of the Star Chapter Degree.

He is a member of the officer team, and participated in chapter activities and skills contests, including parliamentary procedure, and wildlife management teams.

Richard Morrison was named as the outstanding third-year member. He has been active in chapter activities and skills contests including meats evaluation and ag engineering career development events at the State FFA Convention.

Proficiency. Morrison also received the scholarship award for advanced ag (second semester) and the Agriculture Sales Placement Proficiency award during the banquet.

Other proficiency awards were presented to Jarrod Byler, poultry placement; David Acker, forage production placement; Jaren Stoller, grain production placement, dairy production placement; Jim Hatton, dairy production placement; Terry Nickles, dairy entrepreneurship, wildlife management entrepreneurship; Paul Mercer, ag mechanics repair and maintenance placement; Ryan Eggeman, swine production placement; and Dustin Bedlion, agricultural processing placement.

Other students receiving scholarship awards included Mercer, introduction to agriculture; Jaren Stoller, introduction to agriculture; and Joe Lhotsky, advanced agriculture.

Honorary. Don and Ellen Grimes were named as the chapter’s Honorary Chapter Farmers. The Grimes donated a hog for the chapter’s hog roast and also employ members in their hog operation.

The chapter’s 2004 Blue and Gold awards were presented to Rob and Joanne Stoller and Brian and Darlene Acker.

Guest speakers for the evening were Ben Stoller, District 3 Ohio FFA President and Dale Minyo, broadcaster with ABN Radio.

Officers. Serving as officers for 2004-2005 will be Paul Mercer, president; Jim Hatton, vice president; Justin Carr, secretary; Jared Miller, treasurer; Steven Pepperd, assistant treasurer; Amy Lenthe, reporter; Jessica Bosarge, assistant reporter; David Acker, sentinel; and Terry Nickles, student adviser.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!