The stars came out for FFA banquet


BERLIN CENTER, Ohio – Western Reserve held its annual FFA banquet and awards ceremony March 30 in the high school gymnasium.

The speaker for the night was Mikal Nolan, currently a first-year member at Ohio State University and serving as District Two president.

The FFA awarded the top seller of the cheese and fruit basket sales. Adam Resor was first, Chris Calhoun was second and Danielle Maxwell was third. The chapter sold $1,600 more than last year.

Community members.

The chapter awarded Certificates of Appreciation to community members who have donated both their time and services. Mr. Bartow, Ms. Blatnik, Wanda Dalton, B. Dalton Farms, Dauch Concrete, Mrs. Fraelich, Mrs. Kisner, Mr. Landis, Miller Landscape & Garden Center, Mrs. Moehiman, Dave Obrenovich, Ohio Earth Movers, Prestige Pools, Sherman Farms, Sunrise Cooperative, Mr. Timmons and Winkler Buildings were all recipients.

Members earning chapter degrees were Mara Lee Albright, Sheena Berger, Michelle Bess, Kelly Dellisanti, Chris Graves, Chuck Hammond, Mathew Jenkins, Danielle Maxwell, Jason Maxwell, Mike Miller, Charlie Murry, Patrick Nolan, John Patton, Adam Resor, Kenny Rogers and Jennifer Sherman. The first-year students receiving Greenhand degrees were Michael Sparks, Jim Siesky, Darnell Parker, Tommy Jenkins, Jim Starr, Mitchul Gerstenberger, Roger Barnett, Cory Casanova, Andera Dalton, Neil Garwood, Philip Garwood, Tyler Gibson, Jericho Hartmen, Bob Heidl, Jeremy Jackson, James Kofron, Travis Kovach, Kyle Kramer, Ashley Logan, Jay Manhart, Lea Moehlman, Glenn Muskovich, Jessica Patrick and Cody Summerfield.

Proficiency awards.

Proficiency awards were given to Brad Dalton, agricultural mechanics and maintenance and diversified agricultural production; Jeff Kenny, beef production and home and/or community development; Krista Albright, dairy production and sheep production; Jeremy Sherman, diversified crop production, poultry production and grain production; Chris Calhoun, diversified horticulture and forest management; Mike Wobser, landscape management; and Patrick Nolan, swine production.

The commodity marketing team received a plaque for its first place finish in the state. The team was made up of Chris Calhoun, Brad Dalton and AJ Jackson.

The members were also awarded for their accomplishments in the classroom and the FFA. The Star members are Andrea Dalton, Star Greenhand; Patrick Nolan, Star Chapter Farmer; and Chris Calhoun, Star Agri Business.

The outstanding members are Lea Moehlman, Ag Science I; Adam Resor, Ag Science II; Krista Albright, Ag Business I; and Brad Dalton, Ag Business II. The top scholars are Darnell Parker, Ag Science I; Mara Lea Albright, Ag Science II; Krista Albright, Ag Business I; Chris Calhoun, Ag Business I and Ag Business II.

The chapter officers were also inducted. They are Krista Albright, president; Mara Lee Albright, vice president; Andera Dalton, secretary; Mike Miller, treasurer; Lea Moehiman, reporter; Patrick Nolan, sentinel; Kenny Rogers, student adviser; Michael Sparks, parliamentarian.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!