Youth receive dairy recognition


PLAIN CITY, Ohio – The annual banquet for the Buckeye Dairy Club and Ohio State University Department of Animal Sciences was held May 13 at Der Dutchman in Plain City, Ohio.
Approximately 130 people attended.
Scholarships. Scholarships went to:
AGS-Clair Jones Scholarship, Jordan Beck; COBA/Select Sires Wallace Erickson Scholarship, Caitlin Wiley; Dairy Farmers of America Scholarship, Daniel Clinker; Wayne and Jane Dalton Scholarship, Sheryn Schlairet;
Bob Gano Scholarship, Denise Noffsinger; Genex, Inc. Merle Starr Scholarship, Elizabeth Homerosky; H.E. and Florence Kaeser Scholarship, Jarred Converse and Kathryn O’Connor;
Herman Gelbke Scholarship, Steven Ott; Ohio Agribusiness Association Scholarship, Lara Gilligan; McMunn Scholarship, Sally Adams, Paige Gott, and Elizabeth Homerosky;
Dairy Science Memorial Scholarship, Kara Schlotterbeck; Salisbury Scholarship, Renee Starkey, Stacey Burkholder, Kathryn O’Connor, and Maranda Sauerland;
Ludwick Scholarship, Shawn Ryan; and Brakel Scholarship, Brian Hartschuh, Lara Gilligan, and Shawn Ryan.
Recognition. Recognition to Buckeye Dairy Club members included: Outstanding Freshman, Paige Gott; Outstanding Sophomore, Allison Stammen; Outstanding Junior, Brian Hartschuh; and Outstanding Seniors, Greg Hartschuh and Amy Sprunger.
The Prestigious Member award was granted to Michelle Lahmers. This award includes a $500 scholarship.
Officers. New officers for 2006-2007 are: president, Lahmers; first vice president, Jason Nuhfer; second vice president, Allison Stammen; recording secretary, Alison Gentry; corresponding secretary, Stewart Kitchen; treasurer, Brian Hartschuh; College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences student council representative, Danielle Hulit; and Web page, Jill Mantey.
Another highlight of the program was inducting R. David Glauer and David Zartman into the Dairy Science Hall of Service.
Endowment. Also, it was announced that after one-year of initiation, one-third of the maturity amount ($25,000) for the Peter W. Spike Dairy Judging Endowment has been received.
The endowment is to support activities of the Ohio State University Collegiate Dairy Judging Team.
Checks can be made out to Ohio State University (place “Account 480114” on the memo line of the check) and send contributions to Maurice Eastridge, Department of Animal Sciences, 221B Animal Science Building, 2029 Fyffe Court, Columbus, OH 43210-1095.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.