Black River FFA honors its state, American degree winners


SULLIVAN, Ohio – Justina Morlock and Todd Denes were recognized as the outstanding FFA students during Black River FFA’s annual student recognition banquet.

Morlock was selected as the chapter’s Star Greenhand. She has been active in public speaking, hay judging, dairy judging and the envirothon.

Denes was named as the Star Chapter Farmer. He has been active in a variety of chapter activities including the Made For Excellence conference and envirothon.

Amanda Denes was honored for receiving the state FFA degree. The chapter also honored two members nominated to receive the American FFA degree, Amanda Reisinger and Nikki Grannis.

Scholarship awards were presented to Brent Deidrick, freshman, Dan Michalak, sophomore, Lisa Sotak, junior and Corrine Nesbett, senior.

Serving as officers for 2001-2002 will be Amanda Denes, president; Doug Roberts, vice president; Jamie Rollin, secretary; Justina Morlock, treasurer; Brent Deidrick, reporter; Ben Miller, sentinel; and Lisa Sotak, student adviser.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!