A roundup of FFA news for the week of April 22, 2010


JEROMESVILLE, Ohio — The Hillsdale FFA team placed third at the 2010 state agronomy contest.

Individually, Jeff Stimmell placed fourth; Emily Bon placed fifth; Hannah Shock placed ninth; and Kelsey King placed 19th.

The team placed 15th at the dairy cattle contest and individual Kalyn Moffett placed 12th.

The team placed sixth at the state dairy products contest and individual winners were Jordan Haas, 15th and Joe Grimwood, 16th.

In the state equine management contest, the team placed fourth and individually Sarah Bookman placed seventh.

Hillsdale placed fourth at the state general livestock contest and individuals Seth Ebert placed fourth and Zach Fulk placed 17th.

The team placed 10th at the state poultry contest.

* * *

WEST SALEM, Ohio — Northwestern FFA’s judging teams competed at the state competition March 27. While all teams did exceptionally well, the chapter’s dairy judging team finished in first place.

The team this year consisted of Tyler Topp, Tessa Topp, Sage Kopronica, Ben Miller, John Eberly, Willy Frankenburg, and Anna Miley. Tyler Topp and Tessa Topp both placed in the top 10: second and seventh, respectively.

* * *

ASHLAND, Ohio — The Mapleton CDE teams competed at the state contest.

The wildlife management team members are: Aubrey Edwards, Katie Mennell, Sadie Wiley, Erin Dull, Christina Hutman, and Breanna Shank. The team placed 41st out of 99 teams.

The dairy products team of Haley Younce, Brittany Telakowicz, Kelsey Diedrich, Jordan Puster, Brooke Jones, Olivia Whitaker, and Kassidy Imber placed 13th out of 55 teams.

The equine team of Jessica Burrows, Kyle Zimmerman, Kate Briggs, Jessica Adkins, and Maggie Cicillian placed 68th out of 145 teams.

The poultry team’s members include: Casey Hildebrandt, Taylor Dillard, Amanda Adkins, and Chris Mansfield. The team placed 44th out of 74 teams. There were 353 contestants for the Poultry CDE contest.

The general livestock team includes: Jared Wynn, Colton Hickey, Adam Heffelfinger, Herman Haupricht, Garret Canfield, Emily McKinley, and Ranelle Johns. The team placed first out of 156 teams. 858 contestants competed at the contest.

Individually, Jared Wynn placed first and Colton Hickey placed fifth. The General Livestock Team has qualified for the State General Livestock Finals.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.