A roundup of FFA news for the week of April 7, 2011:


ASHLAND, Ohio — Mapleton FFA Chapter held its annual FFA versus teachers’ basketball game March 25.

Admission to this annual community service event is $1 and one canned food item. The money collected went to the American Red Cross for the Japanese Relief fund and the canned food went to the Ashland County Food Bank.

FFA members on the team included: Mason Mencl, Gabe Schoonover, Jared Brant, Adam Heffelfinger, Garret Boley, Kaitlyn Close and Kyrsten Kopchak. They were later joined by Logan Vaughn and Jeff Smith. The teachers had Josh Olin, Scott Mercer, Joe Ortiz, Annie Kolbeck, Amanda Glessner, Nicole Taylor, and Corey Oslie.

Both teams scored some amazing baskets, and with Aubrey Edwards and Erin Dull (two loyal FFA members) as scorekeepers, the final score was 128 to 38.

* * *

LOUDONVILLE, Ohio — Loudonville FFA members Trent Peters, Brandon Allison, James Jones, and Zach Lozier went to the Lorain County JVS March 24 for the Ag mechanics competition.

The team placed fifth in the district.

* * *

WOOSTER, Ohio — Triway FFA members Eileen Gress, Diane Gress, Bailey Hardin, and Brandon Roberts competed at the District 3 FFA Speaking Contest.

Eileen Gress won the Advanced Prepared division, and Diane Gress placed second in the Beginning Prepared contest. After competing at the district level, they competed at the state speaking contest March 19. Eileen placed fourth overall and Diane placed third in her heat.

* * *

WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, Ohio — Miami Trace agricultural education students recently participated in the FFA Greenhand Quiz contest, and placed fifth overall out of 94 teams.

Freshman Evan Schaefer was the highest scoring individual, beating 1,100 other competitors from across Ohio.

In addition to Schaefer, the team consisted of: Hannah Peterson, Nicole Straathof, Molly Garringer, Allison Rife, Katie Frost, Heather Johnston, Mikayla Mick, Logan Harvel, Zach Monroe, Courtney Hagler, Hunter Hobbs, Paige Bonham, Hayden Allemang, Tyler Horney, Gus Mitchem, Caitlyn Caldwell, Cierra McFarland, Chas Grover, Tyler Lower, Montana Born, Taylor Starcher, Julia Miller, Kaylee Runyon, Payton Price, Tyler Wrobel, Samantha Cummins, Cierra Coe, Betsey Bonham, Austin Rogers, Cody Knapp, and Ashley Wood.

* * *

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — The 2011-2012 Zane Trace FFA officer team includes: David Glass, president; Sarah Cox, vice president; Audrey Hoey, secretary; Ryan Speakman, treasurer; Stephanie Glass, reporter; Amber Ginter, sentinel; Hunter Hardman, student advisor; Eva Bugg, chaplain; Kasandra Dalton, historian; and Beau Bilek, parliamentarian.

Newly elected officers Glass, Hoey, Ginter and Bugg attended the District 7 Officer Training at Fairfield Union High School March 16. During the training, they attended sessions geared toward their individual officer responsibilities and shared ideas with officers from other chapters.

State FFA President Amy Frost and District 7 President Cathryn Clark were also in attendance, leading group activities.

Fourteen members of the Zane Trace FFA traveled to the Ohio Expo Center in Columbus April 2 to participate in the Annual State FFA Spring Career Development Event Competition. During the event, students had the opportunity to evaluate dairy foods, general livestock and equine classes. In the competition, the dairy foods team of Cox, Nick Ganus, Alyssa Barajas, Dalton, Heather Yeater, Nikki Gay, Hannah Strange and Sierra Kemper placed 12th overall.

After the competition, the students stopped at the North Market in Columbus for lunch before returning home to Zane Trace.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.