A roundup of FFA news for the week of May 28, 2009


BEVERLY, Ohio — The Fort Frye FFA attended the National Soil Judging contest in Oklahoma.

Team members Josiah Fryman, Heidi Heiss, Greg Heldman and Derek Kirkbride won second place in Rural Soil Judging in Ohio and won the opportunity compete in the National Soil contest.

The team placed 23rd in the nation for land judging.

* * *

ASHLAND, Ohio — The Mapleton FFA held its annual FFA fishing durby May 5.

Awards given to the most successful fishermen and women included Quintein Turk for smallest fish and Tyler Hower for largest fish.

Kristy Kline and Jerry Mencl received awards for their excellent fishing. Jarrod Brant caught the most fish and also received an award.

* * *

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Eighteen Zane Trace FFA members went to Columbus to attend the state convention.

The chapter received CROP and Children’s Hospital awards.

D.J. Jordan and Nick Ganus received a gold rating on their agriscience fair project and placed third in the state, Emily Wright was named a state finalist for the vegetable production proficiency award and Lydia Weaver and Hannah Cryder received gold pins for their officer books.

Hillary Stump, Bekah Coretti, Kourtnie Buchanan and Jordan Clark received their state degrees.

On April 30, seven junior high and six high school students competed in Ohio FFA Agriscience Fair.

Kassandra Dalton received a gold rating and received first place in environmental science and Emily Joosse received a gold rating and earned second place in engineering.

The gold rated team, consisting of D.J. Jordan and Nick Ganus, won third in food science, microbiology and biotechnology and Hannah Snyder received a gold rating on her project in food science, microbiology and biotechnology.

Silver rated competitors were Chelsi Hempstead and Emily Wright in food science, microbiology and biotechnology, Jessie Proehl in animal science, Brittany Woods in engineering and Sarah Cox received a silver rating and earned second place in food science, microbiology and biotechnology.

Bronze rated students were Nicole Jordan, David Glass and Rebecca Hunt.

During the chapter’s annual strawberry sale, Ben Viney was the top seller, selling more than $300 worth of strawberries.

The money earned is donated to the club’s favorite agriculturally driven charities, CROP. This year the chapter donated $750.

This year’s chapter banquet was attended by 278 members and guests.

There were 17 award categories in which many members received recognition.

Chapter Award recipients included: Star Greenhand, Sarah Cox; Star Sophomore, Trey Vollmar; Star Junior, Jordan Clark; Star Seniors, Lydia Weaver and Bekah Coretti; Star in Agriscience, Hannah Snyder; Star in Agriculture Placement, Emily Wright; Star Farmer, Jenna Davis and Honorary Degree, Katrina Smith.

The chapter elected officers for 2009-10 and include: Nick Ganus, president; D.J. Jordan, vice president; Emily Wright, secretary; Chelsi Hempstead, treasurer; Danielle George, senior reporter; Kelsey Buchanan, junior reporter; Sarah Cox, sentinel; Maggie Davis, historian; Ashtan Roberts, student adviser and Ryan Speakman, parliamentarian.

The chapter held its second annual donkey basketball game in the junior high gym May 7.

The evening featured four basketball games played between the members of the junior and sophomore classes, the members of the senior class, the Zane Trace teachers and a team of community members.

The chapter raised nearly $400 for chapter scholarships.

* * *

GNADENHUTTEN, Ohio –Nineteen members of the Indian Valley FFA Chapter, attended the Ohio State FFA Convention recently held in Columbus at the Ohio Expositions Center.

The Indian Valley FFA Chapter was selected as one of Ohio’s Gold Medal Chapters; and also was recognized as one of Ohio’s Models of Innovation chapters in the area of Community Development.

John Berkshire and Matt Demattio received the coveted State FFA Degree.

Chapter officers Kristen Stiles, Jorden Glass, and Shelby Schupp were each recognized for receiving Gold Medals on their chapter officer books at the convention.

* * *

OBERLIN, Ohio — The Firelands FFA Chapter attended the Ohio State FFA Convention May 1 and May 2.

Members toured the Ohio State veterinarian clinic and the Waterman Dairy Center.

During information sessions, the youth listened to keynote speakers such as Michael Peterson. Members also enjoyed an FFA dance.

The following day at the awards ceremony, Amy Sayler and Lindsey Hand received secretary and reporter awards, respectively.

State degrees were awarded to Meghan Bari, Milo McAvoy, Tom Krumwiede, Sami Grills and Andy Butler.

* * *

ALBANY, Ohio — The Alexander FFA chapter held its annual banquet May 17. During the banquet students received recognition for their accomplishments during the past year.

Some of the many accomplishments include first year ag students getting their Greenhand Degrees, as well as second year ag students receiving their Chapter Degrees.

In addition, awards were given to those students who stood out among each class.

The Star Greenhand was freshman Jacob Smith, outstanding sophomore was Jessie Sinclair, outstanding junior was Kathy Kasler and outstanding senior was Zach Crabtree.

Many members received pins for their participation in various Career Development Events.

Scholarships were given to two seniors by the alumni. Crabtree received the Lawrence Bean scholarship and Michael Reeve received the FFA alumni scholarship.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.