WEST SALEM, Ohio — On Dec. 2, members of the Northwestern FFA Chapter competed in theDistrict 3 parliamentary procedure contest.

The varsity team of Kaci Way (chairman), Phil Eberly, Cody Tegtmeier, Emily Flinn, Katie Stull, Christie Franks, and David Miley won the competition and will advance to the state contest to be held Dec. 19 at The Ohio State University in Columbus.

The novice team consisted of Cody Morrow (chairman), Brock Tegtmeier (chairman), Emily Cromer, Leanna Ruegg, Jordan Melegari, Claire Bond, Austen Beegle and Collin Agnes. The team placed second. The chapter also had four members recently compete in the district job interview contest: Katie Stull, Phil Eberly, Christie Franks, and Maria Chellis.
Franks and Chellis placed second in their respective divisions.

On Nov. 18, the chapter participated in the District Food Science Career Development Event. Competing were Debbie Eberly, Philip Eberly, Lene Goodman, Sydney Harmon, Reiley Murphy, Katie Stull, and Kierstyn Wood. The team was first in the contest, with Philip Eberly placing first overall, Katie Stull, second; and Kierstyn Wood, fifth.

• • •

JEROMESVILLE, Ohio — The Hillsdale FFA conducted the Greenhand and Chapter degree ceremony Nov. 18. There were 52 first-year FFA members who received their Greenhand degrees. There were 39 members who received their chapter degree. State Treasurer Haley Wilson spoke at the ceremony. Following the ceremony, officers sold their homemade pies.

• • •

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — The Zane Trace FFA Food Science career development event team placed first out of 20 teams in the Ohio FFA Food Science competition held Dec. 5 at The Ohio State University Parker Food Science building. The group made history by becoming the first Zane Trace CDE team to qualify for the National FFA Finals.

Senior Mariah Cox led the team with a state runner-up finish, which earned her a $2,000 scholarship to Ohio State. Fellow team members Nathanael Freeman, Katie Shelby and Ann Shelby placed 14th, 29th and 35th, respectively.

The event tested the students’ ability to make decisions related to food quality and safety, sensory evaluation and food analysis equipment. The students also completed a team project for the contest in which they created a nutrition analysis and marketing plan for a cracker made from ancient grains.

• • •

MARIETTA, Ohio — The Fort Frye Food Science participants traveled to Logan High School Nov. 19 to compete in the District Food Science Competition. The four schools at this competition were Fort Frye, Logan, Oak Hill, and Vinton County. Fort Frye placed first overall.

At this competition there were 48 competitors. Josh Zwick placed first overall, Cameron Hupp brought home second place; Skylar Kell, third; Jd Gazzale, fifth; Brice Brightbill, sixth; and Leanna Schott scored 10th.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.