Ohio’s District 3 Holstein club marks 40th annual meeting


NEW PHILADELPHIA, Ohio — The 40th annual meeting of the Ohio District 3 Holstein Club was held April 13 at the First United Methodist Church at New Philadelphia, Ohio. Approximately 70 Holstein breeders, their families, and friends attended the meeting.

During the business meeting, after a noon luncheon, Ohio Holstein Association state director, John Hartline gave membership and state director reports, announcing the membership quota for 2013 was surpassed and the district received the full rebate from the membership drive.

Officers elected for the district are Jarod Harding, president; Mark Bardall, vice president; Louise Harding, secretary; Scott Carle, treasurer; and Barb Lumley, news reporter.

Strong sales

The Ohio Convention Sale average was reported to be $3,584 and the Ohio Buckeye Classic Holstein Sale average was $1,822.

The Ohio Summer Sale will be held Aug. 24 at the Wayne County Fairgrounds. Consignments are currently being taken. The Ohio Multi Breed Fall Sale is being planned for November. For information contact Don Alexander, general manager of the Ohio Holstein Association, at 304-376-1788 or 330-264-9088.

The District 3 Holstein Show will be held June 15 at the Tuscarawas County Fairgrounds, Dover.

Juniors recognized

Seventeen junior members in attendance were recognized, and the District 3 Distinguished Junior Contest was held during the meeting.

Participants 13 and under were asked to “describe the feeding program and show techniques you would use for a calf born in March to have her ready for the District 3 Holstein Show in June.”

Junior members over 13 were asked to respond to “what would be the key points you would look for if you were interested in purchasing an animal.”

Victoria Deam, Sugarcreek, was the winner in the 13 and under division and Ben Simpson, Belmont, won the older division.

Junior members who exhibited at the 2012 Ohio State Fair received monetary awards. They were Michael Crawford, Austin Trbovich, Victoria Deam, Colton Harstine, Logan Trbovich and Clay Hershberger.

Royalty crowned

Allison Dawson was crowned as the District 3 Holstein Queen. Allison is from Harrison County, the daughter of Neil and Joan Dawson. She is a member of the Germano Community 4-H Club and exhibits her Holsteins at the Harrison County Fair.

Winners of the judging contest held in conjunction with the barn meeting at Plainfield Holsteins were: juniors 13 and under, Brittany Finton; juniors over 13, Kurt Finton; and adults, Dean Zimmer.

The 2012 Horace Stewart Memorial Award winners were: Belmont County, Ben Simpson; Carroll County, Austin Trbovich; Guernsey County, Katie Combs; Harrison County, Alisha Thompson; Jefferson County, Duayne Wetherll; Monroe County, Nerissa Smith;

Noble County, Samantha Goodhart; Tuscarawas County, Clay Hershberger; Washington County, Alisha Cisler.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.