A roundup of FFA news for the week of June 9, 2011:


JOHNSTOWN, Ohio — Lydia Ulry, of Johnstown-Monroe High School, won the DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award.

She is the daughter of Jeff and Melinda Ulry.

She was a member of the soil judging team and holds the 2010 state degree.

Ulry’s name will be recorded on a permanent plaque and displayed at the high school.

* * *

MINERVA, Ohio — The following FFA members have received Honorary awards and were presented with them during the Minerva FFA Banquet held May 26. Kadie Burger receiving Star Green Hand Degree for being the most active member of the freshman class. Jake Walter receiving Star Chapter Degree for being the most active member of the upper class. Evan Waugh received a gold on his treasure book at state. Kristen Cappelli received a gold on on her reporter book at State Chandlor Phillips and Savannah Galay Received Leadership for stepping up to take charge of the Barn Yard Olympics this year. Joey Gliatta received the Delkalb for being the top senior member of the FFA.

Ten Minerva FFA members traveled to State FFA Convention in Columbus May 5-6 with Southern Local Schools. At state competition, Evan Waugh received his gold award for his treasures book and Kristen Cappelli received her gold award for her scrapbook.

* * *

WELLINGTON, Ohio — The Wellington FFA banquet was held May 13 at Wellington High school.

First year members, Janelle Pitts and Michaela Price, opened the banquet by reciting the FFA Creed. Michael Squire and the 2010/2011 officer team performed opening ceremonies then they recognized the 32 recipients of the Greenhand Degree and this year’s 14 Chapter Degree recipients.

The 2011 State Degree recipients are: William Pabst, Michael Storrow, and Anne Zacharias. At the State FFA Convention, the week prior to the banquet, Ryan Roberts, a past Wellington FFA member, was elected to be the District two state president for the upcoming school year.

The recipients of the Certificate of Appreciation are: Robert and Elaine Beekman, Denise Breyley, Mitch Cloudt, Susan Doehr, Brian Fehlan, Jessika Fye, Jeff Gott, Chris Greene, Becky McDonnell, Craig Norton, Ayers Ratliff, Cindy Palider, Mr. Scruci, Jim Sheffield, Dr. William Spreng, Sally Stewart, Mr. Wert, and Wellington Creative 4-H’ers.

The 2011 Honorary Chapter Degree was awarded to David and Laura Bremke. This year the Wellington FFA Chapter had teams participate in the Greenhand contest, the Farm Business Management contest, the Agricultural Engineering contest, Animal Health contest, Equine Management contest, General Livestock Judging contest, Dairy Foods contest, Dairy Cattle contest, Dairy Handlers contest, Parliamentary Procedure contest, Envirothon contest, Nursery and Landscaping contest, Soil Judging contest, Forestry contest, Public Speaking contest, Floriculture contest, Outdoor Power contest, Agricultural Mechanics contest and Agricultural Industrial Diagnostics contest.

The top three individuals who sold the most citrus were: first place; Madison Bremke,second place;, Austin Washburn, and third place; Morgan McDonnell.

The top three strawberry sellers were: in first place, Morgan McDonnell, in second place; Nathan Thorn, and in third place Katelyn Mondak.

The freshman scholarship award went to Michaela Price and was sponsored by Brill-View Farms. Farm and Home Hardware sponsored the sophomore scholarship award, which was awarded to Mallory Dussel.

Daniel Parsons received the junior scholarship award which was sponsored by Polen Implement,Inc. Jaloda Farm sponsored the senior scholarship award which went to Jon Willis.

The Outstanding Freshman award was sponsored by Sally and Jeff Stewart and went to Janelle Pitts and Quin Dendinger.

Madison Bremke won the Outstanding Sophomore award which was sponsored by Dr. Jack Coates, Chiropractor. The Outstanding Junior award went to Deanna Forbush and was sponsored by Wellington Implement.

Katelyn Mondak was awarded the Outstanding Senior award and was sponsored by LorMet Community Federal Credit Union. The Chapter Farmer Award of Excellence went to Erik Fehlan and was sponsored by Dovin Dairy Farms, LLC.

Anne Zacharias was awarded the AgiBusiness Award of Excellence which was sponsored by Zacharias Farms. The Wellington Veterinary Clinic Star Chapter Farmer award was awarded to Krystena Arcuri. Sarah Doehr was awarded the Fehlan Insurance Agency Star AgriBusinessman award.

Logan Spence was this year’s Dekalb Award winner and Michael Squire was this year’s Ag Credit 110% award winner. Towards the end of the banquet was officer instillation.

New officers include: President, Sarah Doehr, Vice President, Madison Bremke, Secretary, Erik Fehlan, Treasurer, Morgan McDonnell, Reporter, Michaela Price, Student Adviser, Jackie Wagner, and Sentinel, Deanna Forbush.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.