Ohio auctioneers gather for annual conference in Dublin, honor winners


DUBLIN, Ohio — Auctioneers from across the state convened this past weekend for the Ohio Auctioneers Association (OAA) annual conference. The conference was held Jan. 17-19 at the Marriott Northwest in Dublin, which was sponsored by the Real Estate Showcase.

Highlights of this year’s conference included the Ohio Auctioneers Championship, auction marketing awards, Hall of Fame inductions, a children’s auction, the presidential luncheon and the election of the board of directors.


Throughout the weekend, auctioneers were presented with educational seminars from industry leading auctioneers and presenters.

This year the OAA was honored to have the first, Paul C. Behr and the twenty-fifth, Andy White, who is current champion for the International Auctioneers Champion as presenters.


James Mast, of Orrville was crowned the 2014 Ohio Auctioneers Champion in the senior division. Clayton Neal was crowned the junior champion in a competition that featured 27 auctioneers vying for the coveted title.

John Muncy

The highest award conveyed to an auctioneer in Ohio is an induction into the Ohio Auctioneer’s Hall of Fame. John Muncy, of Muncy and Associates, New Lebanon, Ohio was inducted into this year’s Hall of Fame class.

Annual election

The OAA held their annual election of officers at the annual membership business meeting. The members elected Andy White, of Ashland, president; Ken Bonnigson, of Clyde, president elect; Peter Gehres, of Columbus, vice president; Tim Beathard, of London, treasurer; Laura Mantle, of Gahanna, director; Dan Limber, of Defiance, director and Dick Kiko, Jr., of Canton, as director.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.